Aadhar Enrolment and Mandate of UIDAI

The UIDAI has been mandated to generate and issue unique identification numbers (AADHAR) to all the residents of India. Enrolment for Aadhar is voluntary and not mandatory. However, it is for the implementing authorities to decide whether Aadhar is mandatory for receiving a service.

UIDAI is authorized to enroll, through multiple Registrars upto 60 crore residents by March 2014 in 18 states/UTs which are given in table below.

Sl No States/UT
1 Andhra Pradesh
2 Chandigarh
3 Daman & Diu
4 Goa
5 Gujarat
6 Haryana
7 Himachal Pradesh
8 Jharkhand
9 Karnataka
10 Kerala
11 Madhya Pradesh
12 Maharashtra
13 NCT of Delhi
14 Puducherry
15 Punjab
16 Rajastan
17 Sikkim
18 Tripura

 The rest of the population will be covered by Registrar General of India (RGI) under the National population Register (NPR) process.


Tags: AADHARAndhra PradeshDelhiHimachal PradeshIndiaMadhya PradeshNPRUnique Identification Authority of India

profile image

About Shantanu


eMinds Legal Consulting Pvt. Ltd. is a Consulting Firm in India specialzing in Corporate Laws, Compliances, Secretarial, FEMA, Indirect Taxation, Cyber Laws & Contracts. The Firm comprises of a team of professionals of Company Secretaries, Lawyers and Chartered Accountants with an in-depth subject matter knowledge and participative industry experience of over 15 years.

India’s Leading Compliance Software

India’s Leading Compliance Software

Get A Demo Today !

Corporate Law Referencer

Corporate Law Referencer

Corporate Law Referencer

Recent Articles

Recent Legal updates

Recent Gst Updates