Free Trade Agreements & Bilateral Trade Agreements signed by India

India has signed the following two free trade agreements/bilateral trade agreements during the last three years:

Agreements signed:

S. No.

Name of the Agreement and partner country

Date of Signing

Date of implementation


India – Japan Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA)




India – Malaysia Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA)


01.07. 2011

No Agreement has been signed during the current year.  The details of the bilateral trade carried on with India™s FTA partner countries (Japan and Malaysia) during the financial year 2009-10 to 2012-13 are annexed.

India – ASEAN have concluded negotiations on India – ASEAN Agreement on Trade in Services and Agreement on Investment. In addition, negotiations on the following agreements are underway:-

S. No.

Name of the Agreement and partner countries


India – EU BTIA (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg , Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom)


India Sri Lanka CEPA


India – Thailand CECA


India-Mauritius Comprehensive Economic Cooperation and Partnership Agreement (CECPA) negotiations


India- European Free Trade Association (EFTA) BTIA (Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland)


India – New Zealand FTA/CECA


India Israel FTA


Second Review of India-Singapore CECA


India – SACU PTA (South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Swaziland and  Namibia)


India – Mercosur Preferential Trade Agreement (PTA)

(Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay)


India Chile PTA


Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) CECA

(Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal)


India – Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC)  Framework Agreement

(Saudi Arabia, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar and Yemen.)


India Canada  CEPA


India –  Indonesia CECA


India – Australia CECA


Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (RCEP) negotiations amongst the Association of South East Asia Nations (ASEAN) Member States and its six FTA Partners (Australia, China, India, Japan, South Korea and New Zealand).

In Trade Agreement negotiations, India is committed for a balanced and mutually beneficial outcome.

The India-Malaysia CECA and India-Japan CEPA have been implemented with effect from 1st July, 2011 and 1st August, 2011 respectively. These agreements provides for a gradual elimination/reduction of tariffs over a period time.

Every FTA has a Joint Review Mechanism to review the FTA.  For example, the 1st Review of India-Singapore CECA, which was signed on 29th June, 2005 and implemented with effect from 1st August, 2005, was concluded on 1st October, 2007 and the Second Review is underway.

In order to facilitate as temporary entry of professionals/service suppliers, a separate chapter on Movement of Natural Persons (MoNP) has been agreed between India and its trading partner i.e. Singapore, Japan, Malaysia & Korea. The chapter on MoNP, not only enhances the coverage of  types of professionals/service suppliers for purpose of entry into territory of each other but it also defines the duration of stay to be allowed to various categories of natural persons.


Tags: CECAComprehensive Economic Cooperation AgreementGermanyIndiaJapanMalaysiaPreferential trading areaTrade pact

profile image

About eMinds Legal

eMinds Legal

eMinds Legal is a Corporate Law Firm based in Gurgaon, India specializing in Corporate Legal, Corporate Secretarial and Compliance. The Firm comprises of a team of Corporate Lawyers and Company Secretaries with in-depth subject matter knowledge and participative industry experience of over 15 years.

India’s Leading Compliance Software

India’s Leading Compliance Software

Get A Demo Today !

Corporate Law Referencer

Corporate Law Referencer

Corporate Law Referencer

Recent Articles

Recent Legal updates

Recent Gst Updates